SHAKE IT OFF!!!

This applies to any and every thing.
Someone almost succeeded in making me feel bad for being myself the other day. They would have succeeded had I not known who I am.

I am twenty years old, both young and old depending on how you look at it. I am still trying to find myself, I am constantly turning down opportunities and invitations that “are just not who I am”. I will not let anyone try and use that against me or make it seem like it’s a bad thing anymore.

PUTTING YOURSELF FIRST (your sanity, your health, your wellbeing…) HAS NEVER AND WILL NEVER BE A BAD THING.

You are allowed to want to be alone, you can choose not to honour every invitation that is handed to you. I honestly feel like the ability to do these things comes with knowing yourself.

I preach about this a lot but that is because I have not always been aware of myself. Don’t get me wrong I have always been an introvert. I have always just wanted to spend time with me, I have always enjoyed my own company such that the difficulty was letting people in to this safe space that I had created. This is not directly equivalent to knowing yourself.

Self-awareness is honestly one of the most liberating feelings ever. You just don’t have to explain yourself anymore. You are okay with just being yourself. You know who you are and you are comfortable just being you. To anyone who is on this journey with me (knowing yourself is a lifelong journey, we never truly stop learning about ourselves) keep at it.
Do not allow people to make you feel like you come second because you don’t. This is your life, do what makes you happy. It would be so sad to look back at life and just have regrets. I have been thinking about this a lot lately, look back and have no regrets, then you know you are doing this life thing right. Ignore the crickets in the fields, concentrate on your journey, keep going and if you fall get up. The dust? Oh, just shake it off and be well on your journey.

9 thoughts on “SHAKE IT OFF!!!

Leave a Reply

