Gun to your head.

I was having a conversation with a friend (Polokego Mokoena you are loved) and like most of our conversations I don’t know how we got here but we did. He asked if I could sing and I said no. He said what if my life depended on? Can we agree that those few words change EVERYTHING? I already have a scenario in my head:

A: Can you cook?

B: Not really.

A: What if your life depended on it?

B: At your service!

Something about those words makes everything seem possible. You suddenly have the courage, suddenly you are inspired, you suddenly believe in yourself to do what you said you could not do.

(Back to my conversation with the friend) I then went on to say I feel like we can all do the things we say we cannot do if our lives depended on it. What a true realisation! Imagine if we did everything we ever had to do like our lives depended on it. Would we fail? Would we settle? Would we give up? Would we quit?

Now I have two easy questions to ask you:

1)    If you found out you were dying in three months what would you want to do with the time you have left?

2)    What would you do if fear and money did not affect your decisions, were not a factor to be considered?

Closing quote: “Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right.”

– Henry Ford

4 thoughts on “Gun to your head.

  1. Anne J. says:

    Absolutely! You are so right! I think that we should imagine a gun to our head always so we truly live and live our lives fully instead of simply existing and being who others want us to be. Of course, I hope the gun isn’t pointed by another because that would make us puppets and slaves. Henry Ford’s quote is a favorite of mine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

