Unconditional love.

 

Most of us have said the words “unconditional” and “love” in one sentence. I realised the other day that I too may have used the two words recklessly. These are beautiful words to say to someone or even to hear. How beautiful it is to be loved without condition. This is the deepest most sincere form of love. It is a love for you. It loves you. It loves loving you. It loves not how you are, who you are or what you do (all of these are conditions) and this form of love needs no reason to love you.

I usually hear people say I love that he has a good sense of humour, I love that he smells really good, I love her fashion sense, I love how she laughs… If it were not for his sense of humour would you still love him? Would you love him the same? It is probably better to say that “I love his sense of humour”, it is a thing in him that you love. He qualifies to be loved by you by having a good sense of humour.

I think most mothers can relate to the concept of unconditional love. I hear most of them say they did not know they were capable of loving someone like they love their children. I cannot completely relate but I feel like I can relate to what is being said here. One person who has not done anything for you and is not capable of doing anything for you (at the time of birth) changes your whole life. You love this person with every fibre of your being, UNCONDITIONALLY! You love them for who they are, you love their being, you will love them as they are and will love them their entire existence. What pure love! What non-judgemental love!

Another such love is the love of God. This is the ultimate epitome of unconditional love. I mean think about it, God knows who you are, who you were and who you will be but that is not the basis of His love for us. He loves us because He loves us. He is love and that is all He knows, that is all he can do: LOVE. His love is unqualified for. If we had to qualify can you imagine how many of us would pass the test?  My prayer is that we all find a love that will be without condition. A true love. A pure love. A love that does not love because but loves and just loves.

Closing Quote: “One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving.” –The Alchemist

Leave a Reply

