You first.

I have read many magazines in my life (trust me a lot). I have noticed that they all seem to emphasise, in one way or another the importance of putting yourself first. They teach us to be selfish with our time and with ourselves. This is undeniably the easiest thing to talk about. It is the doing that is not so easy.

Putting yourself first, in my opinion starts with knowing and loving yourself. You have to value yourself, value your time, your skills in order to know that you come  first. Some situations (and some people) drain us of our energy, our patience (we all know those people who take more than they give) when do you say enough is enough? When do you make the decision to end it and put yourself first?

I have not figured out the algorithm yet, but I think I have a clue. I actually took this decision yesterday. I told myself that whatever it is I do, where I go, any decision I must make, my priority will be me. Will I be happy? Will this help me grow? Will this change how I view life? Is this what I want? Will I be fulfilled? well, you get the picture. I, ME, I, ME. Me before anyone else. A very wise friend told me that “putting yourself first is an act of self-love”.

I also realised that I settled with a lot of things in my life. Some of the things cost me more than they bring, they deprive me of me. Me settling for those things says a lot about me. I think  I am worthy of average, because if I had put myself first I would have known that I deserve the very best. I do not want to make a decision and end up unhappy, surely that is not how it is supposed to go. This is my life, I come first! In the picture I have in my head, me putting myself first means: being happy, allowing myself the opportunity to work on myself so I can grow, being able to do what I want to do… I realised that I am going to have to let go of certain things and certain people for me to be first.

Closing quote: “You cant our from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first

Leave a Reply

