“I struck gold”.

Think about the first person to ever say that, after a hard days work “I struck gold”. Think about the first person to be given a gold medal, the first person awarded the Nobel peace prize. Now, think about their journey from where ever they were to the day they struck gold. Think about the efforts it took, the hard work, the time spent working.

While I was thinking of what I would write here, I remembered that our dreams are not the same. We do not have the same aspirations, and that is perfectly fine it makes us unique. While you may want to win a gold medal in a sport, my gold can be that I want to be the best in my class which may be different from her gold and his gold. Now I call my goals the gold which is simple because I have an idea of what it is going to  be like when I get there. I want to know how I  will get there, so now my focus is on the journey.

I do not think the first person to say “I struck gold” meant that he found it lying there on the surface of the earth waiting to be picked up. I imagine a man or a woman hard at work digging the earth, searching for something, with a goal, with a plan, giving it their all and eventually after all the hard work they find what they had been looking for. I can already hear the people around them saying “it’s not worth it” “you have been here for two weeks now” and the man or the woman persisting with their search. It all started in the mind. They wanted something they worked hard for it and they got it.

Why is it then that we give up on the dreams we have? The dreams that we set for ourselves.  Why is it that when the journey gets hard and the mountain steeper we start to convince ourselves that our dreams, our goals are not worth it? Why do we underestimate our potential? I have so many questions for us (myself included) and the only answer that makes sense to me is that we do not expect it to take time. We do not expect it to be hard. If this was a marathon I would say we do not expect to break a single sweat, and when we do we ask ourselves if it is worth it and convince ourselves that it is not.

The naked truth is that we want it to be easy. We do not want to put in the work but we want the rewards. We want to eat the fruits from a fully grown tree that we did not plant. What startles me is that most of us know that nothing comes easy, yet we want to be the exception. I want to leave this dreamland I am living in where everything that I desire is served to me on a silver platter. I am joining the real world now, the world that knows that to strike gold you put in the work.

How are you planning on reaching the goal? Has the journey made you change the goal? Are you still holding on to the goal or have you convinced yourself it is not worth it? Answer these questions and re-evaluate your decisions.

Closing quote: “We all have dreams. But in order to make dreams come into reality , it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication, self-discipline and effort” Jesse Owens.

Leave a Reply

