How to get rich.

Firstly, let me apologise for misleading you. This blog post has nothing to do with becoming rich, if I knew I would probably be rich myself.
There are many things that I do not know, some things I wish I did and some do not bother me at all. I noticed however, that everyone I encounter in this life knows something that I do not know. I don’t know about you but this fascinates me. As old as I am, or as black as I am there is someone out there who knows something that I do not know, or knows it better than me.
How then does one extract such knowledge from said person? simple. Humble yourself (by reminding yourself that there is something that this person knows that you do not know). Make every encounter a learning experience ( the person does not need to get philosophical but you may find out the pronunciation of a word that you may have been pronouncing incorrectly). Be willing to learn (you can honestly learn something from someone if you listen and engage, sometimes even just by observation. Undermining the person will not do you a favour because you would have failed step1).
There is power in knowledge. I know that this is a cliché but we can not deny the truth behind it. You do not necessarily have to go out and look for people to have a conversation with in order to learn something new. Knowledge is all around, even in the most unusual places. Do not ever settle for not knowing something. Do not ever think you know enough, there is and will always be room to learn and something to learn everyday.
We may all be familiar with the words “ignorance is bliss” but is it always? You need to be afraid of not knowing, and that should make you want to learn something. Everyday is a good day to learn, to improve, to grow, to take one step towards making your dream a reality.
Closing quote: “When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. But if you listen, you may learn something new.”   Dalai Lama

 

Leave a Reply

