S for Selfish

New month, new me!

Okay fine not really, but there are a few things I would like to change this month, new habits I would like to teach myself. The first thing on the list is how to be selfish, yes! I want to be selfish. I want to be selfish with my time, with my self, with doing things for unappreciative people, I just want to teach myself how to put me first and not feel guilty about it.

I always say that we do things for people because we would like for them to do the same for us. The plot twist however is that some people if the tables were ever turned would not do half the things you have done or do for them. Let that sink in.                                                         Stop feeling bad for being selfish and putting yourself first, at the end of the day that is exactly what everyone else is doing.

You come first, and you should always come first. Be careful of he who makes it seem like you can not put yourself first. You matter, your mental health? your financial life? everything about you matters. Putting yourself first, in my opinion should not even be categorised as being selfish. I mean it actually fits into the self love mould if you ask me. You are taking care of yourself how is that selfish?

I recently saw a beautiful quote that said “be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire“. FEARLESS! I love the word. Does it set your soul on fire? Does it float your boat? Does it make you happy? Do you want to pursue it?  Go ahead but remember BE FEARLESS!

I have things I am looking forward to changing, improvements I am willing to make and habits I want to learn. It is a new month, think about it as a new page or a clean slate to just “do you boo”. Take that risk. Make the change, put yourself first before anything else before anyone else.  What do you want to change in your life? What habits do you want to teach yourself? Remember the word of the month: FEARLESS.

 

Leave a Reply

